Royal Wedding Highlights

The royal wedding of Prince William and Princess Catherine has concluded. After watching guests arrive, the exchanging of vows and two kisses on the balcony, the hours-long festivities are over in London.

The British Monarchy has one more member and is better because of her.

The wedding has been five months in the making since the engagement announcement Nov. 16, 2010. After meeting at St. Andrew’s University in Scotland in 2001, Prince William and Middleton were friends first before developing a romance. When the couple were seen kissing on a ski trip on break from their studies, tabloids announced a new relationship for the older son of Prince Charles and the late Princess Diana.

On vacation in Kenya in October 2010, Prince William had a private moment with the love of his life and gave her the same ring his father gave to Princess Diana upon their engagement. In an interview with Sky News, Prince William said he was carrying around the ring for months to make sure he didn’t lose it.

Now, the event Brits have been waiting for is nigh. As of April 29, there will be one more member of the royal family, Princess Catherine, who will eventually be the Queen of England. The modern couple will exchange vows before an estimated two billion people watching on television and live streams through the Internet.

1:40 p.m. BST, 8:40 a.m. ET

After their public appearance, the royal couple will spend the rest of the day attending private receptions and parties with their family and friends. The Queen of England hosts a reception for 600 guests now and a dinner party with 300 guests occurs at 6 p.m. BST or about 1 p.m. ET.

As for the television coverage of the day’s events, live broadcasts should be finishing and crowds will disperse. The wedding is over, now the marriage begins with a lifetime of love, honor and commitment.

1:27 p.m. BST, 8:27 a.m. ET

Prince William and Princess Catherine appear on the balcony and are joined by their immediate families. They share a kiss for about a second or less.

They kiss again as three World War II-era planes fly over.

This is the moment where the wedding becomes very much one for the entire people of England gathered below them.

1:25 p.m. BST, 8:25 a.m. ET

A huge throng is waiting for the royal couple to make their public appearance on the balcony of Buckingham Palace.

Any time now, Prince William and Princess Catherine will share the first public moment of affection for each other as husband and wife.

1:10 p.m. BST, 8:10 a.m. ET

The crowd at Buckingham Palace is about 15 minutes away from seeing a kiss on the balcony. There will also be a military flyover of RAF planes.

12:55 p.m. BST, 7:55 a.m. ET

We’re about 30 minutes away from the kiss on the balcony of Buckingham Palace. Live coverage of the event is continuing as the public is making their way to the palace in order to witness the supposed first kiss of Prince William and Princess Catherine.

Unless I missed some details, the ceremony went off without any glaring mistakes. Everyone said their vows perfectly. Harry’s turning to his brother as his new sister in-law approached was a nice informal moment. For a moment, my wife and I thought Prince William wouldn’t be able to get the wedding ring on his bride’s finger.

Overall, the wedding ceremony was about as perfect of a day as Brits could want.

12:35 p.m. BST, 7:35 a.m. ET

All of the immediate royal family is now in Buckingham Palace. Now we wait. The kiss on the balcony is going to happen in about 50 minutes.

On television now, one station is still at Westminster Abbey and the bells are still being rung.

12:25 p.m. BST, 7:25 a.m. ET

Expect a kiss on the balcony of Buckingham palace about an hour from now. The couple is entering Buckingham palace in their horse-drawn carriage.

12:10 p.m. BST, 7:10 a.m. ET

Prince William and Princess Catherine enter their horse-drawn carriage for the procession back to the Palace. The crowds are cheering wildly.

12:05 p.m. BST, 7:05 a.m. ET

The Duke and Duchess of Cambridge process to the back of Westminster Abbey. Princess Catherine is absolutely glowing.

Noon BST, 7 a.m. ET

The wedding will conclude in a few minutes. The couple will process to the back for the first time as husband and wife. They will get into a carriage and be escorted by royal mounted cavalry as they return to Buckingham palace.

11:52 a.m. BST, 6:52 a.m. ET

The service comes to a climax with a fanfare of trumpets and a stirring rendition of “God Save the Queen” which almost everyone in the building knows by heart. Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth didn’t sing it, as per tradition.

The wedding party goes out of the public view for a moment in the Chapel of St. Edward the Confessor as they sign the register and their marriage license.

The service is almost over. The service was extraordinary.

11:47 a.m. BST, 6:47 a.m. ET

The Lord’s Prayer is read, followed by some other prayers standard in the Book of Common Prayer. One prayer is about blessing the marriage with children.

How soon before an announcement is made of Princess Catherine being pregnant?

I’m betting within a year of today.

11:25 a.m. BST, 6:25 a.m. ET

James Middleton reads from the Book of Romans. “Do not be conformed of this world.”

“Let love be genuine.”

“Love one another.”

His reading was perfect for the occasion.

11:17 a.m. BST, 6:17 a.m. ET

The couple exchange vows. Prince William places a simple wedding band on his bride’s ring finger. Prince William was not given a wedding ring by his new wife.

Princess Catherine did not say “obey” in her vows and said the exact same vow as William.

Fitting that Prince William held the Duchess of Cambridge’s right hand, the very hand with Princess Diana’s ring on it.

Everyone outside cheered when it was declared they were husband and wife. It was so loud, everyone in the church heard the cheers.

11:15 a.m. BST, 6:15 a.m. ET

I had to click out of the live feed from the royal wedding YouTube channel because it was making my Internet connection go too slowly. Television coverage is plentiful.

The acoustics of Westminster Abbey, again, are unbelievable.

11:03 a.m. BST, 6:03 a.m. ET

The wedding begins. Sarah Burton of Alexander McQueen designed the beautiful lace dress with a 10 foot train. Middleton has Princess Diana’s engagement ring on her right hand and is smiling radiantly.

11 a.m. BST, 6 a.m. ET

The crowd is roaring as Middleton approaches Westminster Abbey. Prince William will love the dress. I can’t wait to see the huge smile on his face.

Middleton looks more relaxed than her husband-to-be!

10:50 a.m. BST, 5:50 a.m. ET

Kate Middleton leaves her hotel with her father, in her wedding dress. It will be the final time she is a commoner. She has a long, silky veil. Her hair is down and a lot of lace around her arms and bodice. Her father has the train in his lap in the back seat of the car.

10:45 a.m. BST, 5:45 a.m. ET

Kate Middleton will be departing Goring Hotel any moment. As soon as she leaves, the royal website has said they will email to the world what designer made her dress.

10:43 a.m. BST, 5:43 a.m. ET

Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II and Prince Philip depart Buckingham.

10:40 a.m. BST, 5:40 a.m. ET

Prince Charles leaves Buckingham Palace for Westminster Abbey.

10:29 a.m. BST, 5:29 a.m. ET

Mrs. Middleton and James Middleton depart Goring Hotel for Westminster. They are the mother and brother of the bride. James will be reading from the book of Romans as a lector in the wedding.

10:20 a.m. BST, 5:20 a.m. ET

The groom and best man arrive at the back of Westminster Abbey. Both are wearing formal military uniforms. They arrived to the sound of bells in the Abbey tower.

Prince William looks a bit nervous as he tugs his uniform and greets church officials.

10:12 a.m. BST, 5:12 a.m. ET

Prince William and Prince Harry depart Buckingham for Westminster.

10:05 a.m. BST, 5:05 a.m. ET

British Prime Minister David Cameron and his wife arrive. The live feed on the royal YouTube Channel is up and running.

A few comments on the live coverage so far. The live streaming feed seems to be about 15 seconds behind live television. However, there are no commentaries on the YouTube feed which is very refreshing with tons of media coverage. There’s nothing like seeing an event with your own eyes and ears.

On my computer, with high speed Internet, there are a few occasional pauses during the live streaming. The picture and sound quality are fantastic. You can hear the milling about of the crowd in the Abbey as well as the classical music being played. The acoustics of Westminster Abbey are fantastic!

Orchestra is playing “Greensleeves.”

9:55 a.m. BST, 4:55 a.m. ET

Live feeds will be gearing up. The official YouTube channel live stream starts in five minutes as do other live feeds from media outlets.

9:47 a.m. BST, 4:47 a.m. ET

Sir Elton John arrives with his husband David Furnish. They both wave to the cheering crowd. Westminster Abbey is very full now.

One hour and 13 minutes to go time.

9:45 a.m. BST, 4:45 a.m. ET

A contingent of over a dozen official vehicles departed Buckingham Palace for Westminster Abbey.

9:40 a.m. BST, 4:40 a.m. ET

Fashion note: women appear to be in three different styles of hats. Traditional broad hats that cover most of the head, smaller hats with adornments and ribbons on them, and then more modern hats like the one Victoria Beckham wore.

Now we know from where the Kentucky Derby gets their tradition.

Best dressed man so far has been David Beckham, but he’s my favorite athlete so I’m a bit partial to the English footballer.

9:20 a.m. BST, 4:20 a.m. ET

The Beckhams arrive and everyone cheers. David is clean shaven, in a top hat and tails, and is wearing his Order of the British Empire medal on his right side. Victoria is wearing black and has her baby bump as they are expecting their first girl.

9:15 a.m. BST, 4:15 a.m. ET

Live stream on the royal YouTube Channel begins at 10 a.m. BST, 5 a.m. ET, one hour before the wedding starts. The Clarence House Twitter page has posted 15 tweets in the past hour updating wedding watchers with official information.

Yahoo! will also live stream the wedding.

9:10 a.m. BST, 4:10 a.m. ET: Prince William will be wearing a red uniform for his wedding, as an honorary Colonel of the Irish Guards. It’s the highest rank in the military he was given in February by the grandmother the queen in honor of his wedding.

Speaking of honorary titles, any men you think should be knighted by now who aren’t?

My picks are David Beckham, who’s already an OBE, Sting and Seal. Not sure how “in” the Queen would be about bestowing a knighthood on men with one name. Perhaps she’ll have to mention their given names such as Gordon Sumner (Sting) and Seal Henry Olusegun Olumide Adeola Samuel.

Less than two hours until the wedding ceremony starts.

8:45 a.m. BST, 3:45 a.m. ET: Designer Sarah Burton has supposedly been seen in key places in London where the bride is also located, both Thursday night before the wedding and this morning. Burton works for the late Alexander McQueen’s label.

Two hours, 15 minutes to go time.

8:30 a.m. BST (British Summer Time), 3:30 a.m. ET:

The doors to Westminster Abbey have just been opened to begin seating. Guests will be arriving in earnest now.

The queen’s press secretary has announced she will confer official titles on the wedding couple. Prince William becomes His Royal Highness The Duke of of Cambridge, Earl of Strathearn and Baron Carrickfergus.

In the short form, the couple will be known as the Duke and Duchess of Cambridge.

By marriage, Middleton will also be a Princess.

Two and a half hours to “go” time.

Posted 4:15 a.m. BST, 11:15 p.m. ET: The night before his wedding, Prince William greeted a huge crowd outside the royal residence at Clarence House. He looked very relaxed and joked with well-wishers in this video. I seriously doubt Prince Charles would have done that.

Prince Harry also walked through the gates to the grounds but was much less chatty–he mostly walked with his head down. I guess he’s not quite ready yet.

Six hours, 45 minutes to “go” time.

If you have any questions or comments, feel free to leave them in the comments section below.