In the state of California, you are required to purchase car insurance. Just like other states, you need to purchase the bodily injury insurance for single and multiple persons. You also need to purchase the property damage insurance. The minimum requirement for the bodily injury insurance for per person is $15,000. The requirement for the bodily injury coverage for multiple persons is $30,000. The requirement for the property damage insurance is $5000. Certain types of vehicles don’t need insurance coverage including trailers, special equipment vehicles and off highway vehicles.
If the vehicles are registered to the city or state, it doesn’t need coverage. If the vehicle has a planned non operation (PNO) status, you don’t have to purchase coverage for it. It is important that you shop around and compare the rates before buying. You should compare the features between different car insurance providers. The proof of car insurance should be kept in the vehicle when you are driving on the highway. If a police stop your car, you must show it to him so that you won’t get fined. After you purchase the auto insurance, the provider will submit your insurance information to the Department of Motor Vehicle. You must never let your coverage lapse as it will cause your vehicle registration to become suspended.
Vehicle drivers should always carry proof of insurance with them. The insurance company will issue an ID card to you. If the insurance company did not provide the ID card, you can request it for them. After you have obtained the ID card, you must submit it to the Department of Motor Vehicle. If you make cash deposit instead of buying insurance, you should submit a DMV authorization letter. If the vehicle is publicly leased, you must obtain a proof. If the vehicles are registered under California Vehicle Code 34601, you should submit a statement of facts.
The vehicle registration can be suspended if you let your insurance lapse for more than 45 days. If the insurance provider did not provide the proof of insurance in 30 days, your vehicle registration will get suspended. Submitting a false evidence of insurance can also cause your vehicle registration to become suspended. If you cannot provide insurance proof, you can get fined for $1000. If you receive a traffic ticket, you have to attend the court session to clear away the penalty. There is a possibility that your vehicle will become impounded and fined. Not having insurance is dangerous because it can cause you to become bankrupt in case of an accident. If you are covered by insurance, you won’t be liable for paying the injury and property damage costs.
It is important that you always buy more insurance that you need. If you only buy insurance to fulfill the state requirements, you will be in high risk of losing a lot of money in an accident. Accidents can costs a lot of money. If you are liable for causing the accident, you will have to pay for all the costs.