This article will help provide you with some basic facts on how to obtain a California Driver’s License. These fast tips will speed you on your way to knowing where to begin and how to navigate the process.
What You Need to Know in California
You will need verification of your birthdate and legal residence. Documents that you can use include a United States birth certificate, a certificate of naturalization or citizenship, a passport, or a temporary resident identification card. You will need to have a 20/40 visual accuracy with or without glasses.
Renewals can be handled online, by e-check, credit and debit cards. You can print off a copy for your records and the actual card itself will arrive in about one month. If you lose your driver’s license, a duplicate replacement charge of $25.00 will be accessed.
The Written Test for a California Driver’s License
First time drivers are required to take a written exam. This is offered in several ways. Foreign language exams are provided. The exam can also be taken in American Sign Language. Audio tests are also available, or you can request a person to person exam. Please be aware that the California DMV will not give audio or written tests after 4:30 pm in order to provide adequate test time.
The Driver’s Test for a California Driver’s License
You will be given three chances to pass the exam. The fee for the first driving exam is $31.00 and each driving retake exam will be charged a $6.00 fee.
First time, teenage drivers can be issued a provisional permit. In order to get this permit, you must be 15 ‘½ but not over 18. You will need to visit a California DMV office and you can set up an appointment online. You will need to complete an application form called DL44. It has to be an original form. Photocopies and faxes of the form will not be accepted. You will have to provide a thumb print, take the vision test, provide identification and pass a traffic laws and signs test. Teenagers applying for this provisional permit must have a parent’s or guardian’s signature on the DL44 form.
You must have completed a driver’s education or training course. If your course was taken out of the state of California, the DMV can instruct you in what to do, which will require documentation from the state where the course was taken. The best way to make sure you have all the bases covered is to visit your local DMV Office in person.
To take the Driver’s Test, you must be at least 16 years old and have held a provisional permit for at least six months. You must have completed driver education and completed at least six hours of professional driver’s training. You also must have completed 50 hours of practice with an adult 25 years or older and this adult must hold a valid California Driver’s License. This person will have to certify the 50 hours. At least 10 of the 50 hours must be completed at night.
You must make an appointment for your driving test. The tests are not given without an appointment. Appointments can be made online or you can call 1-800-777-0133 Monday through Friday from 8:00 am until 5:00 pm to schedule an appointment. You must show proof that the vehicle used for the test is properly insured or the test will be postponed.
What if you fail the driver’s test? You must wait two weeks before taking the test again. You must schedule another appointment and be prepared to show all the requirements again. You have three chances to pass the test.
Special Driving Laws for the State of California
If you desire to be an organ donor, you can choose this designation when you apply for a license or when you renew. This can also be applied to an identification card. The donation registry is only seen by organ recovery personnel. This action cannot be overturned by family.
After a first offense DUI, the driver is required to take an approved driving program class. This is required before a license can be re-instated.
Moving to California from Another State
The website gives detailed information about what can be used to apply for a California license. Most likely, you will have to obtain a copy of your legal birth certificate or immigration or naturalization papers in order to apply. The website also gives an exhaustive list of telephone numbers to call for this vital information and certification records.
For More Information on Getting a Driver’s License in California
This article is for informational purposes only. For more specific information on California driving laws regarding driver’s licenses, contact the California Department of Motor Vehicles. The website is large and gives the California driver detailed information regarding laws and exam locations. The site also has videos to help the new driver.