Like any other state in America, Hawaii features severe laws when it comes to driving a motor vehicle while impaired on alcohol or any other substance. It is considered drunk driving when you have a blood alcohol content of .08%; however, if your BAC is higher than .15% then you will be classified as a Highly Intoxicated Driver, which carries extreme penalties and fines. Below you will find information regarding non-highly intoxicated drivers, which is active as of April 2011.
Hawaii DUI First Offense:
When you are convicted with a DUI and it is your first time, you will be required to spend a minimum of 48 hours in jail or up to five days; however, if there was a child 15 years or younger in the vehicle you will be required to spend an additional 48 hours in jail. The fine associated with this conviction ranges from $500 to $1,000, and if you had a child 15 years or younger in the car then you will fined an additional $500. Your driver’s license will most likely be suspended for at least 90 days; however, you may be able to receive a 30 day license suspension with the ability to possibly drive to court appearances; however, if your BAC is .15% or higher then you will have a mandatory six month license suspension without the possibility of driving privileges. You will also be required to pay up to $50 for the Special Trauma Fund, and you will also be required to undergo a minimum of 72 hours of community service.
Hawaii DUI Second Offense:
Being convicted of a DUI for a second time in Hawaii requires five to 14 days of possible jail time; however, if a child under the age of 15 was in the vehicle you will receive a mandatory 48 additional hours. Your fine will range from $500 to $1,500 and if a child under 15 was in the vehicle then an additional $500 will be added. Your driver’s license will be automatically suspended for at least one year ad you will be charged up to $75 for special funds. You will also be required to undergo a minimum of 240 hours of community service, and you’ll also be required to complete a substance abuse program.
Hawaii DUI Third Offense:
Once you are convicted of a DUI for a third time, and it is within five years of your previous two DUI convictions, you will be required to spend up to 30 days in jail and an additional 48-hours if a child under 15 was in the vehicle. The fine associated with this conviction ranges from $500 to over $2,500 and like the other offenses if you have a child under the age of 15 in the vehicle upon arrest you will be charged an additional $500. You will also have your driver’s license suspended for a minimum of one year and up to five years. You will also be responsible for performing a total of 240 hours of community service and your vehicle will be forfeited under Hawaii Chapter 72A.