Operating a motor vehicle in the state of Georgia while under the influence is a serious offense, and even if it your first conviction you will be required to undergo several penalties. You are officially classified as driving under the influence if your BAC is .08% or higher; however, if you are under 21 years of age and your BAC is .02% or higher then you will be charged with a DUI. Below you will find all of the current Georgia DUI laws regarding penalties, which are all current as of April 2011.
Georgia DUI First Offense:
When you are convicted of a DUI in Georgia and it is your first offense, then you can expect to spend a minimum of 10 days to one year in jail depending on your BAC and prior criminal convictions. The fine associated with this conviction ranges from $300 to $1,000 and you may have your license suspended for a period of one year. You will also be required to spend a minimum of 40 hours in community service, and when you’re ready to have your license reinstated then you must pay a $210 fine.
Georgia DUI Second Offense:
Being convicted of a DUI for a second time is a serious conviction, and you can expect to spend a minimum of 90 days and a maximum of one year in jail. You will also be required to pay a fine ranging from $600 to $1,000 and your license will be suspended for a period of three years. You will also be required to perform a minimum of 30 days community service and also completion of an alcohol treatment program, at the discretion of the courts. When you are ready to reinstate your license, then you must pay a $210 fee, and you may also be required to have an Ignition Interlock Device installed in your car, which is also at the discretion of the judge.
Georgia DUI Third Offense:
Once you are convicted of a DUI charge for the third time, you will be required to spend 120 days to 12 months in jail and pay a fine ranging from $1,000 to $5,000. You will also have your license suspended for a period of five years, and you will also be required to spend a minimum of 30 days performing community service. You will also be required to have your photograph placed in the local newspaper for all to see, and when you’re ready to have your license back you will be required to pay a fine of $210.
Georgia DUI Fourth Offense:
Being convicted of a DUI in Georgia for a fourth time is a serious crime, which is why you will be convicted of a Felony Offense. This offense carries a jail time of one year to five years in jail and a fine ranging from $1,000 to $5,000. You will also be required to complete an alcohol treatment program as well as perform a minimum of 60 days community service.