Alaska GED Requirements and Information

If you never gained your high school diploma by choice or circumstance, you are still able to receive this necessary credential by taking the Alaska GED. This test is officially known as the State of Alaska High School Diploma By Examination, and it allows test takers to the opportunity to gain a diploma to pursue higher paying careers or engage in higher education. Within this article you will find all of the information necessary to take the Alaska GED test.

Alaska GED Eligibility:

Taking the Alaska GED requires you to meet certain eligibility requirements. First off, you must be at least 16 years of age; however, if you are under the age of 18 you must have parental consent in the form of a permission slip and have transcripts from the last school attended in Alaska. If you are legally emancipated from your parents, then you must provide this document to the testing location. If you are over the age of 18, you do not need to provide any other documentation beside your ID and proof of residency; however, you must not currently hold a high school diploma or have an equivalency certificate.

You must also provide the testing facility with your proof of legal residency in Alaska. You must provide this information when you apply for the Alaska GED test. To prove your residency you may bring a current driver’s license, identification card, lease agreement, utility bill or any other document that features your name and legal Alaska address.

If you are living in Alaska on a temporary basis, you may still take the Alaska GED examination; however, you will be required to submit an application by the GED Testing Service or some other government agency, which is outlined in the Sources section below.

Alaska GED Information:

After you have ensured that you have met all of the eligibility requirements, then you will need to fill out the Alaska GED application, which is available at the Alaska General Educational Development Testing Center nearest you. As of 2011, there are 19 GED testing facilities throughout Alaska.

Once you have filled out the application, you will then be required to pay the Alaska GED testing fee. The exact testing fee is subject to vary according to the facility; however, no testing facility may charge more than $25.00 for the complete GED examination or up to $5.00 for a retest or to take a single section. There is no fee to receive your GED diploma.

In order to pass the Alaska GED examination, you must score at least 410 per section and achieve an average score of 450 per exam section. Thus, in order to pass you must have a total score of 2250.

You may retake the Alaska GED examination in its entirety or each one of the five sections individually. A test taker is able to retake the entire or separate sections up to three times per calendar year. If the test taker is unable to pass within three tries, he must wait until January of the next calendar year to retake it.


Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce: GED Requirements

Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce: General Educational Development (GED) Testing

Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce: GED Test Centers