Alaska DUI Penalties

In Alaska, you will be charged with drunk driving, or having a DUI, if your blood alcohol content is 0.08 percent or higher if you’re an adult driver or if you’re a commercial driver with a blood alcohol content of 4.0% or higher. In the state of Alaska, like in all other states, driving intoxicated is not taken lightly, and the penalty you’ll face is determined by your previous record and the level of your BAC.

Alaska DUI First Offense:

If you are charged with a DUI for a first time, then you can expect to have your driver’s license suspended for a minimum of 90 days. As for jail time, you can expect to spend at least 72 hours behind bars and face a fine up to $1,500. Of course, the penalties are dependent on your previous criminal record and any deals your lawyer may be able to get you.

Alaska DUI Second Offense:

When you are charged for a DUI for a second time, the penalties and fines associated with this offense increase. You can expect to lose your driver’s license for a minimum of one year (365 days) and face jail time of 20 days. The jail time may be mandatory depending on your record or upon the judge’s decision. You can also expect to pay a fine of $3,000, which does not include court and lawyer fees.

Alaska DUI Third Offense:

Being caught driving under the influence for a third time, you will be charged with a Class C Felony; however, this felony charge will only be applied to you if your second DUI offense is within 10 years of your third. You will have your driver’s license suspended for a minimum of three years. If this third offense is within 10 years of your second, then you will permanently loose your driver’s license.

Also expect to spend a minimum of 60 days in jail or 120 days in jail if this offense is within the 10 years window. The fine associated with this offense ranges from $4,000 to $10,000 if the charge is within 10 years of a previous DUI charge.

Alaska Fourth Offense:

Like the third DUI offense, being charged with a fourth DUI is a Class C Felony if it is within 10 years of a previous DUI conviction. You will loose your driver’s license for a minimum of five years, or if it is within the 10 year window then you will loose your driver’s license for life.

As for jail time, you can expect to spend a minimum of 90 days in jail or 120 days if this conviction is within 10 years of a previous DUI conviction. You can also expect to pay a fine of $5,000 to $10,000, which does not include court costs.

SOURCES:

Driving Laws: DUI Laws in Alaska

http://dui.drivinglaws.org/alaska.php

In Alaska, you will be charged with drunk driving, or having a DUI, if your blood alcohol content is 0.08 percent or higher if you’re an adult driver or if you’re a commercial driver with a blood alcohol content of 4.0% or higher. In the state of Alaska, like in all other states, driving intoxicated is not taken lightly, and the penalty you’ll face is determined by your previous record and the level of your BAC.

Alaska DUI First Offense:

If you are charged with a DUI for a first time, then you can expect to have your driver’s license suspended for a minimum of 90 days. As for jail time, you can expect to spend at least 72 hours behind bars and face a fine up to $1,500. Of course, the penalties are dependent on your previous criminal record and any deals your lawyer may be able to get you.

Alaska DUI Second Offense:

When you are charged for a DUI for a second time, the penalties and fines associated with this offense increase. You can expect to lose your driver’s license for a minimum of one year (365 days) and face jail time of 20 days. The jail time may be mandatory depending on your record or upon the judge’s decision. You can also expect to pay a fine of $3,000, which does not include court and lawyer fees.

Alaska DUI Third Offense:

Being caught driving under the influence for a third time, you will be charged with a Class C Felony; however, this felony charge will only be applied to you if your second DUI offense is within 10 years of your third. You will have your driver’s license suspended for a minimum of three years. If this third offense is within 10 years of your second, then you will permanently loose your driver’s license.

Also expect to spend a minimum of 60 days in jail or 120 days in jail if this offense is within the 10 years window. The fine associated with this offense ranges from $4,000 to $10,000 if the charge is within 10 years of a previous DUI charge.

Alaska Fourth Offense:

Like the third DUI offense, being charged with a fourth DUI is a Class C Felony if it is within 10 years of a previous DUI conviction. You will loose your driver’s license for a minimum of five years, or if it is within the 10 year window then you will loose your driver’s license for life.

As for jail time, you can expect to spend a minimum of 90 days in jail or 120 days if this conviction is within 10 years of a previous DUI conviction. You can also expect to pay a fine of $5,000 to $10,000, which does not include court costs.